Think Love. Be Love.

imagesCAUTHIMN

Writers have tortued souls. We have many voices competing for one body, many thoughts all jumbled together, and as a result we are usually long-winded because we have a lot to say. Writers must become aware of themselves, aware of others, and aware of their surroundings. They do not have the luxury of green screens, sound editors, and beautiful actors. We simply have a blank page and our mind…everything else…we create…word for bloody word!

The following are the 12 signs of Spiritual Awakening. I find it beneficial in keeping to these practices in order to keep myself sane when dealing with others…real or otherwise.

1. An Increased tendency to let things happen rather than make them happen.
As writers we are usually comfortable with this. We are so “In Love” with our characters they often take advantage of our willingness to go anywhere with them.

2. Frequent attacks of smiling.
Smiling is a natural reflex. And when applied properly, it makes others feel good. It is free and has universal meaning…Why not practice it?

3. Feelings of being connected with others and nature.
This is vague. But I think on any level it is a good thing. My child was born in the Spring. Many other animals were beginning their families, too. I can remember seeing a family of ducks and being overwhelmed with emotion. I had an instant connection with this mother duck. I stopped my car and watched as she carefully watched over her flock crossing the road in front of me. I sat and cried a happy cry because I knew she felt the same way about her child as I did mine. No matter the species, a mother’s love is the same. True Story. (side note: irrational bouts of joy and tears are a common side effect of pregnancy hormones.)

4. Frequent overwhelming episodes of appreciation.
I experience overwhelming gratitude every time someone reads my blog. It has been an enormous confidence booster and I am eternally grateful. (Can I blame this irrational bout of joy on pregnancy hormones, even though my child is turning 7?)

5. A tendency to think and act spontaneously rather than from fears based on past experiences.
I like this one! Fear is such a driving force within us all. We are conditioned from an early age how to react to certain situations. Often times, we base our reaction on false emotions and we never evolve past what is expected of us. I am a planner, and I am a staunch believer in “Think before you speak!” So this one will require some thought. (see…I told you so!)

6. An unmistakable ability to enjoy each moment.
Ahhh! The ol’ “Live in the Moment” sentiment. It is true! We must find value in every single moment of every single day. Our lives in this world are fleeting and we must look for the beauty, because when some things leave, they don’t return.

7. A loss of ability to worry.
“Never borrow Worry” this was actually said to me this morning. Worry is useless and is a waste of time. Don’t practice it!

8. A loss of interest in conflict.
Now, as writers, we know conflict is the driving force. We cannot lose interest in that. I think in terms of inner-self… we must no longer harbor feeling of betrayal. We are not responsible for the emotions of others.

9. A loss of interpreting the actions of others.
In short, quit trying to control others. If everyone practiced honesty (see #5) then we wouldn’t have to “guess” what something meant. I love people who are blunt. I always know where I stand with them, and I am confident enough in myself to NOT need validation from others. (execpt in my writing see #4)

10. A loss of interest in judging others.
I could write a thousand blogs about this one. In short. Stop Judging Others. Period.

11. A loss of interest in judging self.
Be kind to your body, mind, and soul.

12. Gaining the ability to love without expecting anything.
This is my favorite. Often times, we feel let down or betrayed because someone wronged us. As humans, we have become very self-centered. We must step back and re-examine. Many times, it is our expectation that has been wronged, not us. We should love someone for them, not for what they can do for us. And we should never fool ourselves into thinking… They should have done this for me, because I would have done it for them. That is only a recipe for disaster. Do what you want to do for someone, and do it for love only. In turn, this is how you will be enriched.

be love

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Think Love. Be Love.

  1. I was so inspired by your sharing the definition of an author that I’ve scripted it onto a note card and taped it to my desk, love it “The person who originated or gave existence to anything” …. fabulous writing Holliequeener!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Think Love. Be Love. Part II | Queen of Query

Leave a Reply

