The Creative Wellspring of Weird

quirky cat

People ask me fairly often how I keep myself motivated to blog (almost) everyday, and how I decide what to write about. I decided to start this blog to document my journey to becoming a published author. In the process, I have found there are many different shapes this blog may take, but at the center will always be writing. I do not view this as a “job” or work. Doing so, I do not feel obligated to write everyday. “To be obligated, is to be obligated.” One of my favorite quotes, and I think about it often. (I have not cited the source, but a wise Mr. Honeycutt is my known origin, and he has been known to quote Truman Capote from time to time.)

I also want to write posts that have some sort of value to the reader. Time is such a valuable commodity, we have many different distractions pulling for our attention, so I only want to take up your time in a way that gives back to you. Posting daily, just to say “I did it” will never be my intention.

So, back to the question…how do I keep myself motivated? Well, that is easy. I have a dream of becoming published and I love writing. If you do what you love, it is never work.

How do I decide what to write about? Something usually sparks my interest. A song, a poem, a conversation. I ponder it on my way to the office, and then I sit, and write. It is my favorite part of the morning, well, that along with several cups of strong black coffee.

It is vital to keep filling our creative wellsprings. We do this by giving time and attention to our inner child. We do this by living in the moments of daily life, not in the Instagram memories. We must allow our minds to drift and daydream. We must allow ourselves to be bored, because in moments of boredom, our mind sparks the uncanny. We must commit to renewal of spirit by letting go of negativity. Quiet the outside world and give yourself permission to listen to the birds. Pullover on the way to work and watch the sunrise. Stop, close your eyes, and give thanks for all the wonderous blessings of a healthy body and mind. Do these things as often as you should. Don’t neglect your inner wellspring while giving way to everything else. Do this in every possible moment.

So, the next time you meet someone who seems “flighty”, the next time your child “ignores” what you say, the next time you dismiss someone as being “weird.” Just remember, they are most likely a writer, an artist, or just a dreamer filling their creative wellspring.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Creative Wellspring of Weird

  1. Good post. I like the philosophy behind what you say.

  2. katemsparkes says:

    So true about it being a job. I can’t let that happen to writing. Writing is my playground, or sometimes the dark and frightening forest I can’t help exploring. It’s hard, but it’s not my JOB.

    I’m also a highly accomplished daydreamer. 🙂

  3. nicholeck says:

    I love the idea of a “creative wellspring”! I just wrote a post about this topic recently, and I wished I had heard that phrase before I wrote it! I ended up using the metaphors of fueling a car and drowning to talk about finding ideas (http://awriterstouch.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=39&action=edit), but I don’t think it worked quite as well as I wanted it to.

    This post also reminded me of a reason not to be upset when I think my husband is ignoring me: he’s the most creative person I know!

Leave a Reply

