“A Farewell to Love”

225px-Antique_Valentine_1909_01The oldest known valentine is still in existence today, a type of poem known as rondeau, written in 1415 by Charles, duke of Orleans, to his wife while he was imprisoned in the Tower of London.

“A Farewell to Love”

I am already sick of love,
My very gentle Valentine,
Since for me you were born too soon,
And I for you was born too late.
God forgives him who has estranged
Me from you for the whole year.
I am already, etc.
My very gentle, etc.

Well might I have suspected
That such a destiny,
Thus would have happened this day,
How much that Love would have commanded.
I am already, etc.

A rondeau is a form of French poetry with 15 lines written on two rhymes.
My first poem, as a member of Pine Mountain Poets, was a rondeau. It is not about love, but quite the contrary…it is about SIN. How fitting, since Valentine’s Day follows Ash Wednesday? Here was my very first attempt at poetry…

“Sin Begets Sin”

Can it end, if sin begets sin?
Will my soul ever make amends?
What begins with innocent sighs,
ends with temptation gone awry.
Now with my fate I must contend.

Greed and gluttony strive to win.
Dizzy lust into envy spins.
The wrath that follows Pride’s failed try.
Sin begets sin.

My heart now weeps from deep within.
Regret will never find a friend.
Passing moments all kissed goodbye,
a downward spiral from the sky.
Without redemption, can it end?
Sin begets sin.

A poem on the assigned topic of “Slippery Slope” in the style of Rondeau
4/18/2012

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “A Farewell to Love”

  1. Susan Bahr says:

    Well, I just had to pass along a little award – don’t know if you have it already – just think of it as a way of spreading the love! good luck to you on your new blogging adventures. I’m sure they’re only just beginning.
    If you want to see/accept the award you can go to my site or click on this short link: http://wp.me/p2GfO1-bf
    take care,
    Sue

Leave a Reply

