Giving up Lent for Lent

scanlent0001

So today seems to be a buzz with the Season of Lent. Around every corner I’m asked, “So, what did you give up?” It might as well be New Year’s Eve all over again. Lent has become just another popular holiday for setting meaningless resolutions. While those of you are busy giving up Diet Coke, cookies, or Facebook, devoted followers of the true Lenten season are giving up their sin.

I hate to burst your bubble, but Diet Coke, refined sugar, or even social media is not the sin of the season. Those are just silly exercises in will power for the next 40 days. True Lent is intended to transform. So unless the lack of Diet Coke is going to transform your soul, then you should really think about another sacrifice.

Lent is a time of spiritual transformation; a special time to reconcile your wrongs with God, and change your life. So at the end of the 40 days, you shouldn’t return like a dog to its vomit, you should be transformed. Leading you to the lesser known piece of Lent, when you give up the weight of a particular sin, you are to replace it with something positive, something good in your life, like prayer.

So yes, I’m giving up Lent, as in the pop culture definition, for true Lent. I am not practicing some silly ritual in will power for the next 40 days, just to return to it on Easter. I am going to try to transform in the way the season is intended, through prayer and self-reflection, not lack of Facebook.

I fully understand, not everyone observes Lent, and not everyone should. I also do not pretend to be any sort of expert on this matter. I just thought this topic is in such gross misrepresentation. My hope is to possibly shed some light on the issue, and encourage someone to learn something of true meaning and not just follow along mindlessly for another cliché holiday.

P.S. Valentine’s Day is tomorrow.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving up Lent for Lent

  1. katemsparkes says:

    It’s funny you mention giving up facebook- my cousin just said “I’m not religious, but I’m always up for a challenge. Goodbye for the next 40 days!” on there yesterday.

    I honestly have no idea what I would give up, but I agree with everything you’ve said here. Thank you for a thoughtful and thought-provoking post.

  2. Dave says:

    Wonderful post, Hollie. Nice to see someone focus on the real meaning of Lent.
    Sorry to be comical, but I must confess that I absolutely loved this sentence of yours:

    “So at the end of the 40 days, you shouldn’t return like a dog to its vomit, you should be transformed.”

    Well put, and such a great visual 🙂

Leave a Reply

