February Poetry

Every month, the Pine Mountain Poets have a “challenge word” that directs the poetry topic. The word for February is “Ribbon.” Here is my poem…it is about my daughter.

RIBBONS IN YOUR HAIR

My little girl’s smile shining bright.
Blue eyes wide with innocent’s sight.
Porcelain skin pale as fresh snow.
Carmel curls frame the freckle’s glow.

My joy begins each dawn so fair,
With tying ribbons in your hair.
Pretty ribbons tied in a bow,
nice and neat for a girl so petite.

I treasure the morning chore.
I’m the lucky one for sure.
I was chosen by your care,
To tie the ribbons in your hair.

For tying ribbons, my time is short,
Leaving only memories for me to sort.
My daughter’s love will never cease;
A mother’s love is quiet peace.

You will always need my love,
But my hands less and less.
To my child with skin so fair,
I cherish tying ribbons in your hair.

By: Hollie Queener

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

