TERMINAL FROST Query

This week I have been working on polishing my second novel. It has been completed for a few years, but in true author fashion, I constantly change and edit the manuscript, as all obsessed writers do. Here is the current working query. I am hoping to have it ready for my editor by next week and then to query by the end of the month. Any input, suggestions, or critiques(yikes!) are welcome.

Dear (agent/editor):
TERMINAL FROST, at 40,000 words, explores the power of friendship, the importance of questioning assumptions, and the need to define ourselves on our own terms. It is targeted for contemporary YA.

Peter Commonelli is plotting his way to a life of wealth and privilege by acceptance into an Ivy League school; however, his first priority is to be accepted by his girlfriend in a more physical nature. That is challenged when she makes a move toward their wealthy and free spirited best friend. Peter and his three lifelong friends decide to sneak up Red Sequoia Valley’s legendary and haunted mountain. The teens are captivated by an unexpected visitor, leading them to question the Ancient Red Sequoia Legends.

Coyotes evoke fascination and condemnation in equal measure, and it has been that way since their debut in Native American folklore. TERMINAL FROST centers on the fictional legends that followed the coyote arrival, set against the backdrop of a mysterious mountain enchanted by the possibilities of modern teen self-discovery, yet gripped by the Ancient stories of the past.

While I have not yet been published, I am a member of the Romance Writers Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member. I write for my blog, queenofquery.wordpress.com and Twitter @holliequeener. I am diligently working on building a platform and audience for my writing.

Sincerely,

Hollie Queener

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in QUERY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TERMINAL FROST Query

  1. liamodell1 says:

    Great! It looks good to me! 🙂 Just wondering, is 40,000 words enough for your book? I thought it would be more…

    • Thank you for the comment and kind words. I have wondered the same about the word count. I don’t like to put words or scenes that are not necessary to the story…just for the sake of word count. I do realize 40k is a little skinny. I’ll continue to explore some areas that could use a little more detail. Thank you again! I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

