All About Writing Contests

imagesCAZEG09D

What should writers know about contests?
From: Nathan Bransford, author and former literary agent
nathanbransford.com

The absolute most important advice I can give you is this: read and understand the fine print.
Know what you’re entering. Know what happens to your work in the event you win (or even/especially if you don’t win). Make sure you’re completely comfortable with it.
For instance, in the event you win the Amazon Breakthrough contest, are you comfortable with a $15,000 advance and a completely non-negotiable publishing contract? (The fine print says you can’t negotiate).

Do you want to try for a better deal by going through the traditional publishing route and finding an agent?
There’s no correct answer here: it’s up to you. But make sure a) you know what happens when you enter/win and b) you can live with it. And think very long and very hard about anything that could tie up the rights to your work. And when in doubt: don’t enter.

Do agents and other publishing types look favorably on successful contest wins/finalists?
Here’s the thing about that. Even the biggest writing competitions have… what, a few thousand entries? Agents get 10,000+ queries a year and take on maybe a handful of clients. Going strictly by the numbers, an agent’s Inbox is far more competitive than any writing contest. Accordingly, I take contest wins with a grain of salt.
If you win or are a finalist in a large contest by all means, include in the query as a publishing credit. But I wouldn’t necessarily call it a difference-maker in a query. It can definitely help, and there are some genres where certain important contests are taken very seriously, but it’s not usually something that’s going to make or break you.

And if you’re a Semi-Finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough: I wouldn’t mention it. Every time the Amazon contest rolls around we’re suddenly besieged with Amazon Breakthrough semi-finalists, and while yes, it’s a good achievement that you should absolutely be proud of, to us it seems like there are several bazillion semi-finalists.

All that cautionary stuff aside: I’m not down on writing contests! I know how hard and lonely it is for writers who are struggling with the Am I Crazies and are wondering about that big question: Am I any good?

Writing contests can provide that crucial validation from people who don’t know you and hey, they like your work! It can be a real confidence booster, and that can make all the difference in the world.
So definitely consider entering writing contests, just make sure you do it with eyes wide open.

I found this to be very insightful and helpful. I have only entered one contest, but my poetry group constantly enters their work. I have not found the need to do that…just yet. I seem to be content in my misery of QUERY.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All About Writing Contests

  1. Jae says:

    I think you can have your novel that you’re not necessarily entering in contests, and also write short stories that you could enter in contests. But this is good advice to look at the fine print. Hearing that Amazon’s contest was non-negotiable steered me clear of it this year. I’m not saying I would never enter. But right now that doesn’t seem an appropriate path. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

