Bret Easton Ellis

The book cover art copyright is believed to belong to the publisher or the cover artist.

The book cover art copyright is believed to belong to the publisher or the cover artist.

I’ve told you about my fascination with horror movies and my obsession with music, but I have not talked much about the obvious…the writers who have directed this journey. I would be amiss not to include BOOKS on blog about writing.

The list of “who” to include would be very long and boring, because every author I’ve ever read has shaped me in some way. But the one, above all else, without a doubt, that has shaped my dream of writing is Bret Easton Ellis. I know, gasp! I didn’t select Austen, Dickens, or Harper Lee.

Ellis is my all-time favorite. His writing is so direct, smart, and dark. His characters are mesmerizing. I’ve talked about characters and the importance of liking them; however, some of Bret Easton Ellis’ characters are so twisted that there is no way one could possibly like them. If you know his work, then you know I’m thinking of that handsome, designer suit wearing Patrick Bateman. But even as disgusting as he was, I still had to learn more about him. I didn’t want to. I tried several times to resist him. Many occasions, I said out loud, “I don’t want to read this book!” I didn’t want to like it, but something (hint: the writing) kept me coming back. I simply couldn’t resist him. To me, that’s magic!

At the risk of writing lengthy book reviews pretending I could have done it better (which I wouldn’t dare), my favorite novel of his is Less than Zero and then the subsequent, Imperial Bedrooms.

P.S. Less than Zero is also my favorite Christmas movie. (wink, wink)

I can only aspire to write characters as well as Bret Easton Ellis.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bret Easton Ellis

  1. Dave says:

    The single most influential writer I’ve read is Stephen King. The first book of his I read was IT. He had me hooked after that. Will I ever write as well as he does? No. Will I ever have some ideas that are as cool as the ones he’s had? Probably not. But it doesn’t really matter. I just want to be able to write and to have those words read.

    So do you read any horror/dark fiction/thriller type books? Or is that reserved for film only 🙂

    I’d like to try some Ellis. Do you recommend Less Than Zero?

    • I love Stephen King as well. Rose Madder was the first novel I read of his. The Body (Stand By Me movie title) is my favorite of his. I love the Dark Tower series too. No, I enjoy a dark book just as much as the films.

      Less than Zero is his debut novel. I’d start there; however, my first read of his was Rules of Attraction. Imperial Bedrooms is the sequel to Less Than Zero written 20 years later. American Psycho is extremely dark and graphic. You’ve been warned. 😉

  2. Nathan Newton says:

    I also love Ellis,Rules of Attraction was my favorite, I loved the multiple points of view (It is my favorite Christmas Movie) one thing BEE shows you is that you dont have to fill up a lot of pages to get a good story told.

    • Thanks for your comment Nathan Newton! You were the one who Twilight, Christmas Punch, and the Epiphany was written about. Well… we all know, not the Christmas Punch part. Go read that post!:-) I want you to to design/paint/create the cover for my first publication! We will ride the Christmas Punch Merriment all the way to the top!

Leave a Reply

