Rejection is Protection

“Rejection is God’s Protection”
I saw this quote on a friend’s Facebook page, and it has spoken to me several times over the last couple of days.

Rejection is difficult, wether it is in
education, sports, friendship, or love. We all deal with rejection on a daily basis, and are accustomed to coping with its various forms from a young age.

As writers, rejection is the deepest form of rejection. This is why. We can accept when someone rejects our love. We cope by reasoning “the time just wasn’t right” or “we just weren’t good for each other.” It hurts, we miss their company, but in time, we heal.

A writer’s work is their most personal thoughts from the most hidden of places; therefore, when rejected, the pain is deeper and more personal than any other emotion.

Learning how to cope with such a painful reality within the publishing industry takes time. It takes time, a lot of confidence, and a little faith that you are being protected.

Keep on writing!

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in QUERY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rejection is Protection

  1. “Every secret of a writer’s soul,
    every experience of his life, every
    quality of his mind, is written
    is written large in his works.”
    -Virginia Woolf

  2. indytony says:

    This is a hopeful reminder for me, especially to read today. This morning I finished a working draft of a short story I’m hoping will also become a stage script and screenplay. I’ve begun the mountainous climb of sending out queries, calling on old connections and looking to make new ones in the hopes to see this little bird leave the nest soon and fly. I would appreciate your prayers.

    • Absolutely! We must never lose sight of where we place our faith. Best Wishes and your persistence will pay off! Thanks for commenting and sharing your journey as well. I can’t wait to read about your success!

  3. Dave says:

    You nailed it here:

    “A writer’s work is their most personal thoughts from the most hidden of places; therefore, when rejected, the pain is deeper and more personal than any other emotion.”

    No matter the genre, or whether it’s a short story or a novel, you can’t help but put yourself into those words in some fashion or another. It’s a vulnerable place to be, but it’s the only way to be a writer. I doubt I’ll ever get used to rejection. I suspect no one really ever does. But developing that thick skin helps. And, like you said, a little faith (or a lot 🙂

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    That is one of my favorite quotes! Perhaps I use it to rationalize a bit, but it works every time. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it!

  5. Akanksha says:

    yup..so true…its really difficult 2 cope up wid the fact tat your thoughts are rejected. but then we shall always respect such rejections as they gives us a scope for improvement…they give us a challenge 2 think out of the box… becaz what we feel, what we think is not the only way & we know that… such rejections gives us an opportunity 2 look for changes..to explore more…to think more deeply.. to justify what we wrote in a more refined manner or 2 modify what we wrote with more justification .. 🙂
    I know I may not be “BEST” but I am confident that I am not “WORST” 🙂

Leave a Reply

