“She is all that I have left, and Music is her name.” -CSN

My friend Mindy and I meeting Thriving Ivory

My friend Mindy and I meeting Thriving Ivory

Inspiration comes from many different places. Music inspires me everyday in every way. I love music, although I am not musically talented. (Oh, how I wish!) I trust God knows where to place certain talents. I would be a certifiable train wreck as a Rock Star.

When I first started writing, I listened to music, mostly to drown out the background noise of my husband watching football, and my two year-old singing loudly on her karaoke machine. (maybe that’s where my talent gene went!) As the process of writing developed, I discovered the music was feeding my fuel to create. My first novel, Castle of Glass, (then titled Surrender), was written mostly to the music of Thriving Ivory. They were a little known group from the West Coast music scene. (nowhere near the sweltering summer of Georgia) I don’t know why their music captivated me, but I would try to write to other bands that I loved more, but I kept coming back to them. As writers you constantly hear of this “MUSE” person, place, or thing. I guess Thriving Ivory was my MUSE.

I got to see them live in Atlanta, not long after I finished my book. It was such a great experience. Their songs meant something different to me. As I enjoyed their overly talented performance, I was seeing my book come to life. This was the soundtrack to my first novel. What an awesome experience!

Sidenote: The title of this post comes from one of my favorite songs, Southern Cross, by Crosby, Stills, and Nash. Music was obviously their soul. Much like when you begin to write, it becomes a part of you. A part that once stirred, can never be quieted.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “She is all that I have left, and Music is her name.” -CSN

  1. Rhoda Hedden says:

    Pretty picture of you and Mindy!

  2. Dave says:

    Usually, I end up writing to silence, because music, especially if there are vocals, tends to distract me. I start paying attention to the song instead of what I’m trying to write 🙂 I do enjoy listening to instrumental music, though. I love soundtracks and various styles of ambient music, depending on my mood.

    Awesome that you got to see the band in concert *and* got to meet them. Very cool.

    • Dave, I can relate to needing the silence. As I stated, I wrote my first to music to help drown out the distractions. My second, I wrote to Pink Floyd’s A Momentary Lapse of Reason, which has several instrumental tracks. My third; however, I wrote in complete silence. I found the music distracting. I guess each takes a life of it’s own. That is what is so satisfying about writing…every day can be different.

      Thanks for your comment and have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

