Story Structuring is like Parenting

book parent“My Novel is complete.” A phrase I will never say truthfully. I am constantly revising my stories. This is something I have in common with every other writer out there. Many writers refer to their work as “their babies.” Well, in that sense, we know all too well…a mother’s work is never done!

My first baby (my book, not my REAL baby) was written as I have stated before, with no real structure. I just sat down and I wrote. I wrote the parts that interested me at the time. I didn’t write in chronological order, and I didn’t outline. Writing this way made it exciting. I couldn’t wait to see how it ended.

With my second novel, I created a skeletal outline before I began, and my third novel was an experiment in “following directions.” I did a complete traditional story structure. Which means, I wrote character analysis, my outline was several thousand words in length, and I plotted carefully, before I wrote the first sentence. Writing #3 was a very different experience from writing #1. I feel that editing has been easier since I prepared in advance, but I had more difficulty writing the story. I knew how it ended and it didn’t intrigue me as much as the “FREE” characters of my previous two novels. So, we will see how it turns out. I am currently editing my second novel for the umpteenth time and just beginning the re-writes on the third.

Every parent says each child is different, and thus you have to parent differently. I feel my “literary babies” are no exception. All birthed the same, but I have guided them in different ways. So, which child is my favorite? Ahhh, we all know a true parent never reveals that dirty little secret.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

