What’s my novel about?

Since sharing the news of writing, many friends have asked the most common question when you tell someone you have written a book. “What’s it about?”

Since my blog is about becoming the Queen of Query… I thought I would share my current query letter. (I may get up enough nerve to share my first query letter) I have lost count on how many times I have revised, edited, and shed tears over these couple of lines. (seriously! not an exaggeration)
In fact, I edited it again before this submission.

Dear (editor),

Castle of Glass is a 52,000-word manuscript, with possibility, targeted for contemporary YA.

Anna Leigh Livingston always dreamed of escaping her small, Southern town. Given an unlikely opportunity to fulfill her childhood fantasy, she goes for it, unknowingly launching herself into a place balanced precariously between love and terror.

Falling for Alexander Rogers, a mysterious Russian coed with an impossible past, Anna Leigh quickly finds herself on an adventure of a lifetime. Her counterpart and confidant, Brady Parker, struggling between feelings of friendship and love, suspects Alexander isn’t who he claims, and discovers his underworld of unpleasantness.

While I have not yet been published, I am a member of the Romance Writers Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member. I have two other completed novels. I write for my blog, queenofquery.wordpress.com and Twitter @holliequeener. I am diligently working on building a platform and audience for my writing.

I look forward to hearing from you, and thank you for your time and consideration.
Sincerely,
Hollie Queener

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in QUERY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s my novel about?

  1. Pingback: What’s my novel about? | Queen of Query

  2. Thanks for the follow, Hollie. You’ve got a good start on your query letter. I question why you inserted “with possibility” into the first sentence. Possibility for what? Anything that makes an agent stop and think is grounds for the circular file. Also, I’d replace “manuscript” with “novel.” Manuscript implies unfinished to me.

    I’ll echo someone else’s comment about Query Shark being a good resource, but keep in mind that each agent has a style or format they prefer to see, and I’ve found it necessary to tailor my query to individual agents more times than I can remember.

    Querying is one of the hardest parts about writing in my mind. So tough in fact, that I started my second novel by first coming up with a log line (the one-sentence “pitch”), then developing the query letter, then a synopsis, then an outline, then scenes based on the outline. It’s not perfect and I’m still struggling with the plot, but it’s another way to approach writing a novel.

    One more suggestion: address the fact that each of your blog posts so far are listed twice for some reason. Better not to clutter up your home page with extraneous material.

    Good luck on your writing journey.

    Chris

    • Chris, WOW! Thank you! I appreciate ALL of your suggestions and advice. I just recently added the line “with possibility” at the suggestion of someone else. I was not sure of it, but wanted to let the Agent know that I was willing to write a sequel or develop the story into a series. What are your thoughts?
      Secondly, I am new to WordPress and this format. I have noticed the double links, and agree that it is messy and confusing. It does that when I “press” the article. Any suggestions?
      Once again, thank you and I value your opinion and time.
      Regards!
      Hollie

  3. Patrice says:

    If this is a YA Contemporary, once you get everything all set, you should look up entagled teen, they focus on romances and contemporary novels for teens and you should query one of the editors (if you haven’t already heard of them)

  4. Susan Bahr says:

    I loved your post and the comments – writing a query is so daunting – I never knew how hard until I reached that stage last summer. Let me be blunt – my query still sucks. Congrats on yours, though – and what a great way to get feedback! When i pitched an agent this summer with my mighty Irish Epic – she told me two things. 1) it has to stand alone- can’t end with a cliff hanger and 2) if it was part of a series I could say “with potential for a series” in the query.
    Good luck to you. Soon as I’m through with this next round of massive edits, I’m going to contact teeneyes.com and hire them to look at my ya novel. They are awesome, by the way, and do pitch and query reviews.
    Oh yeah, sorry to be so verbose. Congrats again – sounds like a wonderful novel (did I say I love romance?)
    sigh. You can tell me to shush now…
    Sue

Leave a Reply

