The Agony of QUERY

QUERY is the process of submitting your “pitch” to prospective literary agents and publishers. The task of summarizing your 50,000 word masterpiece in less than a single page is nothing short of daunting. The common source of the struggle comes from this simple thought… If I could have written my story in less than 200 words, then why did it take me 52,000? UGH!

I wrote my 50,000 word masterpiece with ease. It was a beautiful dance…enjoyable and FUN! QUERY was anything but. I labored, I researched, and I struggled! Let me repeat… I struggled! So, I went where every “smart” person goes for advice…the internet. The advice and templates for writing a query is abundant. I spent hours wading through various QUERY suggestions. It took me almost as long to write my 200 word query as it did my novel…well…not quite.

(Looking back, that first query was awful, but I was too inexperienced to realize it.) I quickly have come to realize… QUERY is just as important as the novel. Those 200 words are the gateway to getting a request for a partial (more chapters) or even the elusive, full manuscript request. It is the first impression of all impressions. I wish I had taken it a little more serious in those first attempts. But, I am a firm believer in Faith, and where I am is exactly where I was meant to be and my journey only makes me better. I keep repeating this fluffy affirmation, because after submission, the next step is difficult to accept.

But for now, I was ready. Complete 50,000-word manuscript…“scintillating” query… the A-list of Literary Agents…It was submission time!

Then, the fear set in…

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Agony of QUERY

  1. joannaswirl says:

    I keep my fingers crossed for your success!! I admire you for creating something such extraordinary for me as a book. I cannot imagine me coming up with a logical and breath-taking plot, though as you said it would be an unforgettable experience to see some ordinary folk reading your book in a public area… hope you will yet experience this dream 🙂 …and then, tell me all about it 😉

Leave a Reply

