“The NEXT Harry Potter!”

I had finished my FIRST NOVEL and I was elated! Only a select few were asked to read my innermost thoughts, after all, I was beginning to think the WebMD diagnosis wasn’t that far off. My first fans consisted of Robert(husband), Rhoda(mother), and Polly(best friend). Now, my “fans” are going to go easy on me. They are going to love me no matter what, and they are really kind to even take the time to humor me.

I’ll spare you what my husband endured. But at his request (misery really does love company) here’s a snippet: “So what do you think about it? Guess what? Do you think it is good? Do the characters need more development? Is it good? Do you like it? Is it good?” So you get the point… lot’s and lot’s of questions. Looking back, I now know, I was craving feedback, but more on that later.

So… Here we are… I’ve written the story, I’ve gotten confirmation from the “fans”, let’s publish it! After all, my mom says it is the best story she’s ever read. (wink, wink)

Let’s get clear on something. I have never expected to be the next JK Rowling or Stephen King. I never expected to be a blockbuster, NY Times Bestseller, I didn’t really expect to get paid for my story. I just wrote it. Now what? I know that I don’t want my life to change. Sure, the paycheck would be nice. The fame, eh? I’m ok with who I am. But the one thing I do wish for my stories… my DREAM of publishing is this:
I would love to be walking on the beach and pass by someone lying in the sun, large brim hat, dark sunglasses, pina colada in one hand and my book in the other. The sheer excitement of witnessing a total stranger meet Anna Leigh and Alexander for the first time…that is really the dream for my book. (And…I’d also like them all pretty and bound with sexy covers for my bookshelf.)

But to ever realize that dream meant only one thing… I would have to put myself out there. Out where? I knew nothing about the publishing industry. So I began the next phase of becoming a writer…the business side. Oh boy! What a shocker that became.

Then learned the word that I would come to dread… QUERY.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The NEXT Harry Potter!”

  1. Patrice says:

    Haha, yep, exactly…querying…and once you get your query all perfected like I feel like I have you might start to realize (as I have) that your manuscript could use a couple more revisions and such to help grab the readers. So it’s back to the beginning, sometimes it seems like a neverending cycle 🙂

  2. katemsparkes says:

    Scary, isn’t it? I’ve been writing and revising one novel for two years (working on the sequel now) and just now feel like it’s ready to see the light of day… and the light is absolutely terrifying!

    I dream of seeing my books on store shelves, walking down the aisles (or past an end-cap; why not dream big?) and just seeing them there, maybe even seeing someone picking one up and paging through it. Gives me shivers. I like the beach thing, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

