“Twilight, Christmas Punch, & the Epiphany”

I did not grow up with the dream of becoming a writer. In fact, I never considered myself an “English” type. I liked cheerleading, boys, my friends, and Drama. Not Lindsay Lohan style of drama, more the Shakespeare ingénue.

It wasn’t until my early thirties, at my best friend’s Christmas party, that the idea of writing became a dream. Standing with my glass of “spicy” Christmas Punch, prepared by my best friend, who takes great pride in his punch by the way, we began a deep discussion about the recent phenomenon known as TWILIGHT. My friend and I discussed, at length, my love for Edward, our ever changing mood for Bella, and his fascination with a hunky, shirtless werewolf. He then said to me, “You know, that story is very simple. A tale as old as time, much like Romeo and Juliet…written with the same formula.” We discussed further, not realizing the first stone in my writing “dream” had just been laid. We continued to discuss the juxtaposition of Stephenie Meyer’s Mormon background and dark fascination with the undead. Then he said it. I’ll never forget the words…
“They say, every person has at least ONE good story to tell. It’s just taking the time to sit down and write it.”

Que: heavenly music, glitter of starlight, and swirling thoughts of romance. And no, it wasn’t the special Christmas punch. It was my new dream… my epiphany. I would write my ONE story.

About holliequeener

I am an author. Which is defined as "the person who originated or gave existence to anything." So in that sense, we are all authors of some sort. More specifically I am a writer of fiction. I am a member of the Romance Writer’s Association and an active Pine Mountain Poet Society member.
This entry was posted in Just A Dream and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Twilight, Christmas Punch, & the Epiphany”

  1. ltownsdin says:

    Thanks for following my blog! Great that you are following your dream.

  2. Nathan Newton says:

    Inspiration can sneek up on you anywhere ….good times!

Leave a Reply

